Browse Exhibits (2 total)
The Cosmos Club, a women's civic organization, were the original force behind that first iteration of our "free public library" in 1930, which occupied the second floor of the Blameuser Building at the corner of Oakton Street and Lincoln Avenue in what was then called Niles Center.
The Library’s first governing board was appointed in August 1930 and consisted of: Mrs. Alan Wile, Honorary Chairman, Mrs. William O. Fagan, Chairman, Mrs. O. Kuhn, Mrs. Paul W. Wilkes, Mrs. Glen Williams, Mrs. J.J. Musil, Mrs. A. J. Davies, and Mrs. E.G. Hall. Since the appointment of that esteemed group of civic-minded Skokie (then called Niles Center) women, the library has grown in popularity, collection size, and dimensions.
Explore the minutes and other related documents from the Library Board’s meetings from 1958-2017, by decade or individual year.This is a growing collection, so check back regularly for updates!
Skokie Public Library’s permanent art collection began in the late 1960s and has grown steadily since then from a small collection of paintings by emerging Chicago artists to an eclectic mix of large-scale sculptures, paintings, prints, and tapestries from local, national, and international artists. Through a combination of gifts from generous private donors and assisting funds from the Illinois Arts Council, each work of art in the library enlivens the walls and courtyards of this award-winning building, providing visitors with visual inspiration.
This digital collection provides you with a virtual tour of the items in our collection.